Restore the Shared with Everyone folder in OneDrive for Business

For a long time now, the default behaviour in OneDrive for Business has been to provide a folder (called “Shared with Everyone”) which is an easy way to share files with everyone in the organisation. By default, the permissions on this allow editing of files in the folder by “Everyone except external users” (and guest links can be provided for others – either on a view-only or an edit basis).

From 1 August 2015, Microsoft changed the default setting for OneDrive for Business so that the Shared with Everyone folder is no longer provisioned.  It can be created manually by a user, or the tenant settings for the entire organisation can be set to provision the folder by default:

Set-SPOTenant –SharingCapability Disabled –ProvisionSharedWithEveryoneFolder $true

It’s also possible to remove users’ ability to use the “Everyone,” “All Users” and “Everyone except external users” groups from the people picker in OneDrive for Business and SharePoint Online with the following commands:

Set-SPOTenant -ShowEveryoneClaim $false
Set-SPOTenant -ShowEveryoneExceptExternalUsersClaim $false
Set-SPOTenant -ShowAllUsersClaim $false

Enabling them is achieved with the equivalent commands but set to $true.

3 thoughts on “Restore the Shared with Everyone folder in OneDrive for Business


  1. Hi mark

    I think the Set-SPOTenant –SharingCapability Disabled –ProvisionSharedWithEveryoneFolder $true only comes into play when new users are created. Can you please confirm. BTW you are brave man to tweet about the Archers ;-) . Checkout Hemmingways Chair on the iPlayer Radio App.


  2. Thanks Daniel – yes, I think you’re right (no impact on existing users) though unfortunately I can’t confirm at the moment as I don’t have a suitable tenant/licences to play with! My Archers addiction is well known though :-)

Leave a Reply