RAID and units of storage

This content is 18 years old. I don't routinely update old blog posts as they are only intended to represent a view at a particular point in time. Please be warned that the information here may be out of date.

A couple of weeks back, I commented that photography and IT are becoming ever-closer but last night I was amazed to open a copy of Digital Photographer magazine and find an article about redundant array of inexpensive disk (RAID) storage!

It was an interesting read and, because it assumed that the read wasn’t an IT professional, it gave a concise explanation of the various RAID levels (and storage capacities) which was actually a really good reference. It also referred to a number of websites with additional information – I’ve reproduced a couple of them here, along with an extra reference of my own:

From the same article, for those of us who have forgotten what the various (binary) units of storage are:

  • A single byte is the most basic unit of computer storage.
  • 1 kilobyte (KB) = 1024 bytes.
  • 1 megabyte (MB) = 1024KB (1,045,576 bytes).
  • 1 gigabyte (GB) = 1024MB (1,073,741,824 bytes).
  • 1 terabyte (TB) = 1024GB (1,099,511,627,776 bytes).
  • 1 petabyte (PB) = 1024TB (1,125,899,906,824,624 bytes).
  • 1 exabyte (EB) = 1024PB (1,152,921,504,606,846,976 bytes).
  • 1 zettabyte (ZB) = 1024EB (1,180,591,620,717,411,303,424 bytes).
  • 1 yottabyte (YB) = 1024 ZB (1,208,925,819,614,629,174,706,176 bytes).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.